Library: Using Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS: Getting Started

New User Interface for Atla RDB with AtlaSerials PLUS

As of January 7, 2025, Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS will be available using a new user interface. This new interface includes updates to improve user experience. This guide reflects the updated user interface, which has also been applied to all EBSCO databases. Contact library@meadville.edu with questions or concerns.

Added January 7, 2025

This Guide

This LibGuide will cover using Atla Religion Database (Atla RDB) with AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS), as well as using the Atla Hierarchical Scripture Authority. While basic keyword searches are often sufficient to discover useful articles, more advanced search features will allow users to find the right information quickly. When searching on broader themes and topics, advanced search and search refinement features will be necessary to narrow down the results.

Student or Faculty Login Required

Why Use Atla RDB with AtlaSerials PLUS

Containing over 2 million articles, Atla Religion Database with Atlas PLUS is the largest journal database dedicated to the academic study of religion available to researchers. The Atla RDB contains an extensive index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays from thousands of full-text religion and theology journals. Atlas PLUS includes more than 721 full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 40 different countries. It provides access to both full-text articles and abstracts. When searching for academic articles related to religion, Atla RDB with Atlas PLUS is an excellent starting place.

Access Atla RDB with AtlaSerials PLUS

To get started, select the green "Start Using Atla Religion Database" button on this page or from the Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS section of the Article and Journals LibGuide. Meadville Lombard students, faculty and staff are then prompted to sign in to Atla using their Populi login information. If you are already signed in to Populi or a library service that uses those login credentials, you may be automatically signed in to Atla.